Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Fixed Gear Moonlander

I am new to the world of mountain biking (I normally ride mountain unicycles) but am building up a Surly Moonlander. I ride a Surly unicycle with a 100mm rim and a Surly Nate tire.
    I want to build the Moonlander with a fixed gear as it will be closer to what I am used to (there is no coasting on a uni). I bought a frame with an offset fork with the thought that I could have the option to have a fixed gear bike and flip the wheels if I really needed to change the ratios. For instance, I could gear it for normal riding and commuting and then have the front wheel with a granny gear for snow or sand or whatever.
    As I am new to bikes with so many components I am at a loss as to exactly what I need. I believe a Surly MWOD crankset will still be need for the Moonlander but if I understand it right I don't need a front or a rear derailer? The chain just goes wraps straight around both cogs. Is this correct?
    Also what hubs should I use? I was thinking of getting a Surly Dingle cog for normal use. What should I get for the front to make a granny gear when it is switched out? Or do I need a different gear for the front?
    Again I have never ventured into bike building before and I don't have a reliable LBS to ask these questions to.

Thanks for your time in answering these questions.

mtbr member
    First off, sounds like a fun project and best of luck with it!