mtbr member
    Feb 2017

Fattie recommendation please

I have a road bike that I ride a few days a week in good weather. So I am not a newbie to riding but I have no idea about riding in the woods.
    Im looking to try and get in the woods and this older body needs a comfortable ride. I was told to look at the fatties. I live in a very rocky area with nothing but rough trails and mountains. Hoping to find something of quality for under 2k . Oh also this granny needs easy gears ( bad knees)
    thank you all for your time and willingness to help me

wjh
    mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    I like 9ZERO7 bikes. This bike with a bluto added on would work. 2017 Whiteout AL NX 1x11 - Fatbikes

mtbr member
    Nov 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by poni View Post
    I have a road bike that I ride a few days a week in good weather. So I am not a newbie to riding but I have no idea about riding in the woods.
    Im looking to try and get in the woods and this older body needs a comfortable ride. I was told to look at the fatties. I live in a very rocky area with nothing but rough trails and mountains. Hoping to find something of quality for under 2k . Oh also this granny needs easy gears ( bad knees)
    Once you get a fat bike you will never be back on the road! Fortunately there are quite a few good bikes at that price. Personally I ride a DiamondBack El Oso that I got for $1,500 here: http://amzn.to/2kstTrW . This gives tons of room to upgrade an already great bike. It fits 5" tires and comes with a bluto fork from the start ($650 upgrade). This is great intro to fat biking for anyone. Also, don't make the newbie mistake of running tires at 30PSI, A 5" tire should be around 6PSI in the woods or 3PSI on snow.

Hope this helps!
    -Ben

mtbr member