mtbr member

Fat bikes and Pacific Northwest

Hi, folks: I know Vik has written a lot of great stuff about PNW fat biking but thought I'd ask here too. Sorry if this has been covered before but I didn't see it readily in the archives.

I am just learning about these (mostly 650b road/gravel/sorta rando-type biking for me). I live in Seattle and don't MTB much but a fat bike seems like a great addition--can hit the trails if I want but also ride along the Sound coast. And maybe I'll get adventurous and snow ride in Eastern Washington.

Did other PNW folks find the fat bike a good investment or was it not suited or overkill for our area?

Thanks a lot.

Ryan

mtbr member
    I bought my fat bike in Calgary on the other side of the Rockies where winter makes a fatty a no brainer. I've used my Pugsley less here on Vancouver Island than in Calgary and I've wondered if I would have bought a fat bike had the process started here. The situation here isn't as compelling for a fat bike as it was where there was a real winter.

Our MTB trails here are very rough and technical and I prefer my 6"+ FS bike for trail riding. The lack of snow means I can ride a "normal" MTB 365 days/year.

I don't have wide open beaches to ride here and there is no easy beach touring route that would make a Pugs the obvious choice.

So that leaves bikepacking type dirt tours which the Pugsley would be a great choice for, but you can also ride this type of rides just fine on 29er MTB or a 650B gravel bike.

The one place I use my Pugsley that I couldn't go with any other bike is beach riding in Baja. I go there enough that those trips alone justify my purchase of a Pugs.

You mention rando type biking and if you mean riding brevets I wouldn't recommend a fat bike for those rides. You want a road bike which depending on the specific routes you plan to ride can run 700c or 650B wheels. If you are just talking about exploring gravel roads and not riding brevets then a fat bike would be just fine.