Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Loser

Fat bike supply and demand

I'm new to the Fat bike thing, in fact since I don't even have my bike yet, I might not even be "new" yet. I am, however, obsessed and have learned a lot from everything posted here at MTBR and other places. I'm a long time MTBer though with 25 years of riding under my belt.

One thing I've noticed is the demand outstrips the supply for a lot of things in the fat bike world. If you want tires or a new bike, probably winter shoes, you better have your stuff ordered already, in a month you won't be able to get what you want.

To the more seasoned Fat bikers - is that a true assessment? Why aren't manufacturers keeping up with demand?
    Big Strings, Big Wheels, The Jisch Blog

mtbr member
    Age old question. Now that it's a legit genre of mountain biking (i.e. people are taking it seriously), I think we will see more choices and availability. But we are still a year or so off. But do buy now as stock will go away very soon.

mtbr member
    Fair assessment. On the one hand, it's a good problem to have- demand outstripping supply = higher than expected interest/growth. On the other hand, when it's january and you need a new tire, it sucks.

The fatbike specific parts obviously go fast. THe extra cool special edition limited color run honestly it's just orange powdercoat that's adding an extra 100g to your rims stuff goes insanely fast. It's usually sold out before it even gets announced.

As bacons said, it's getting better, but it'll be a long time before it's not an issue. Says the guy who's ordering his stuff early this year.

Loser
    On the other hand, the short supply means no deals. Jenson doesn't have many fat bike parts!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Jisch View Post
    To the more seasoned Fat bikers - is that a true assessment? Why aren't manufacturers keeping up with demand?