Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2014

Smile Fat bike, snow, clipless

I'm relatively new to fat biking. I have almost 30 years of bicycling experience and am 100% comfortable going clipless on the road and 95% comfortable on my mountain bike.

My fat bike riding is 95% in the snow. Until this weekend, I was doing platform pedals and boots. They work fine, but I missed the efficiency of clipless. So I spent a fortune on Wolvhammer SPD boots and bought some Shimano PD-M785 Deore XT pedals. Rode about 3-4 hours this weekend with my clipless combo. Trails were pretty well packed. Did perfectly fine most of the time, but had several (8-10) slow speed "fall overs." It seems that by the time I knew I needed to be "out", it was often too late to get out. Additionally, since the need to be out is usually because you get off in some deep snow, and that can be on either side, it made the routine of always clipping out with my right foot not always the best solution.

I had no injuries as I was simply falling over into soft snow, but there are things hiding under the snow that could cause injury and I am 62, so I don't like the idea of falling at all.

Anyway, I'm just wondering if there are any pointers that people have who have ridden more clipless fat bike snow miles.
    Thanks.
    Rod

Perpetual n00b
    Flats FTW. The snow conditions change WAY too often to just clip in and motor along with ease on technical singletrack. There's going to be unexpected dabbing and sometimes you'll need an outrigger when it gets loose. Clipless may be more efficient when you can stay clipped in but is it worth the risk of falling into some gooseberry or on a fallen honey locust?
    If you gorge yourself into morbid obesity, you can skip everyone else in line at Disney World.

mtbr member
    Feb 2006