mtbr member
    Jul 2017

Farley EX 8 owners, do you like your bike?

I am relatively new to this sport and am looking for some help. I am 54 years old, strength train and also run. The running is taking a toll on me and so I started to MTB and love it! I am currently riding a 29+ bike but also want to ride in the winter and really don't want to have 2 bikes (adding a fat bike for the winter). The Farley EX 8 appears to have everything I would want for a year around bike. Is the EX 8 a good 4 season bike? I did a search and read some reviews but would like to hear from actual owners. Any help is appreciated!

mtbr member
    Oct 2016
    Firstly congrats on getting into and loving the greatest sport ever conceived. I have the 9.8 and it is my favorite bike. The only drawback to running it 4 seasons is the rear shock does not like extreme cold weather. I have ridden mine down to about -10C and have had no issues but would not be comfortable riding any colder than that. Hardtail fatty for those conditions. But if you dont live somewhere that gets that cold for months at a time it is a great 4 season bike. Summer months it is a beast and it handles pretty much everything ive thrown at it. I should also note that I have upgraded the fork to a charger damper and it totally transforms the bluto. The stock Hodag tires are great on everything except deep unpacked snow and ice.
    Cheers

mtbr member
    Jul 2017
    Thanks, I was almost hoping you would say you hate it so I wouldn't think of ways to come up with the $$. The LBS has one in stock and my size and will take $500 off the price.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    I was 54 once.
    I wish I could be 54 again.
    You are the youngest you are ever going to be.
    Buy the damn bike and leave a worn out corpse.

A Surly Maverick
    Hi, I have literally just got one 4 days ago.

I have ridden full sus 29ers and full sus fatbikes......

The Farley is a great all rounder