mtbr member
    Apr 2004

Do it all fat bike

I am probably going to be ordering a fat bike by Monday. I am renting one from a local shop to try a snow ride this weekend -- it's a Framed Wolftrax.

I had originally planned to get a Fatback Rhino FLT with the GX1 build, and probably add a Mastodon to it.
    Fatback Bikes - High Performance meets Affordability

I was looking today at the Mukluk and Beargrease though, and they sound pretty awesome too...especially the Beargrease, since I can get that for the same base price as the Rhino and it's a carbon frame.

More background: I've been riding FS for many years (Santa Cruz Heckler, 26" wheels), and that bike's about worn out. I do mostly XC style trail riding, and the trails here are on the tight and twisty side, with plenty of roots, but not really big drops or jumps. I'm in southern Ohio, so in the winter we get a bit of snow and it might be on the ground for a couple weeks each snowfall, but we don't have the super groomed trails like I've seen in Minnesota, just what gets packed down by people out riding the singletrack.

Does anyone have experience comparing these bikes, or opinions on what would be the best for year-round riding as the proverbial "one bike quiver"? Sadly the only thing I can demo locally is the Framed, and I would rather go a bit more high end than that.

Thingamejigger
    Which version of the beargrease is it... 27.5inch 2018??

Beargrease downsides, very stiff according to my friends that ride them and can be a bumpy ride, can also only take a 4 inch tyre, so might not be as good in un-groomed snow.... upside, light and fast for the singletrack for the other 3 seasons....

GX Eagle Mukluk... you can stick on a Mastodon fork on come spring and a set of 29+ wheels for days when you want a little less rubber.

mtbr member
    Sep 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Flying_Scotsman View Post
    can also only take a 4 inch tyre, so might not be as good in un-groomed snow