since 4/10/2009

Deciding on a new "all-round" 26x4.0 trail tire

So in a week, I'll be moving from Indiana to Asheville, NC.

Up here in Indiana, I've made good use from 45Nrth Husker Dus for summer duty and Surly Nates for late fall/winter/spring duty. The Nates are a little draggy for summer hardpack. My HuDus are getting pretty worn, and I don't imagine that they'll last all that much longer with as much granite as there is in Western NC. I'll run 'em until they die, though.

I probably won't replace them with a similar small knobby, either. On the occasions I've used the Nates in chunkier terrain, I've been mostly happy with them, except I'd rather have something else up front. I really like them as a rear tire, though. I have been running the front "backwards" and it's only okay that way. My Nates have pretty little wear (even though I've been using them for a few years, that's mostly been in softer conditions).

So one tire I'm considering for the purpose is the Vanhelga. It's really the only tire in this class that I've actually been able to put my hands on, so I'm reaching out to the fatbike crew to see who else uses this tire or a similar tire in front.

The older Husker Dus I'm running don't have very good cornering traction, and that's something I really want out of a front tire.

Anyone compared it to the Minion FBF?
    Anything else I should be looking at? So far not a fan of most Vee tires so unless it really outperforms some of the other options, I'm not especially interested.

Rippin da fAt
    Nov 2011
    The VH's are actually very nice in terms of rolling, traction and float for a 4" tire.
    If only WTB would offer the Timberwolf in a 4.0 and 4.8 option. :/

Have a safe and easy move...
    Get fAt, Stay fAt, Ride fAt
    Doctor recommended...

since 4/10/2009