Thread: Carver semi-fat

mtbr member

Carver semi-fat

I finally got the bike out for ride in the snow on Sunday and got some pictures. I have not commited to full fat because I'm usually skiing, and it's rare that we have snow on the ground for extended periods here in southern NY. So I've been collecting parts and tweeking my winter ride for a few years now, and this is my latest incarnation. Here are the important spec's:

Carver 29er Ti frame
    Black Sheep Ti 29er fork (borrowed from my SS)
    Wheels: Black Hope Singlespeed disk rear and disk from hubs
    NOS Stans Olympic FR rims
    Surly Endomorph front tire
    Specialized Big Hit 3.0" rear tire
    XTR M950 crank with a 28t Homebrewed Components spiderless chainring
    6 cogs (33-14) on the SS hub
    Old XTR M951 short cage rear derailleur
    Old XT Thumbshifter

The Carver is my geared bike normally and run with a 29er Alfine wheel and Fox fork. I removed the Fox and borrowed the Black Sheep fork from my SS, which fits the Endo on the Stan's FR rim no problem. I am working on a dedicated fork for this, and have a broken One On carbon fork on the way to me . I am impressed with the tire clearance of the Carver frame, plus it has sliders to get the tire where it has the most clearance, they are all the way forward right now. I may be able to squeeze an endo in the rear on this rim which would be awesome, but it'll be real tight! The Specialized Big Hit is pretty good though. I ran a Gazzaloddi last winter, and the Big Hit is slightly larger, slightly lighter, and was easier to mount than the Nokian, all pluses in my book! I picked up a pair on Ebay NOS a few months ago.

I know it's no substitute for a full fat, for my limited needs I can't justify another bike. It's fun to get out in the snow and do some pedaling, and to see the looks on peoples faces that are out snowshoeing or XC skiing! I will post some ride pictures in the 'Daily Fatbike pic' thread as well.

Enjoy,
    Mark