Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2015

Build your dream chinese carbon fatty!

RED means I had that in there originally but since removed it from the build

Hi guys, I tried posting this in the chinese carbon fatty thread but I got almost no replies since the post quickly disappeared among other posts.

I am a total bike noob but I am really fired up to get myself a carbon fatty.

I used to love my small bike with fat tires as a kid and have always wondered why noone makes them. Until now!

I've read pretty much read the whole chinese carbon fatty thread and
    set myself on the FM190 frame - scratch that its now SN01 from ICAN! Reasons: rear rack mount, still fits 4.8 tires but only just, comes with 150mm fork and fits a bluto suspension fork in 16 & 18" sizes! (From some extra info on the forum apparently the 16" size needs an extra wide crown race (3mm extraor so. One guy uses salsa Cane Creek +3 40mm Crown Race), to fit the bluto I am not a racer so I don't need the single track geometry, although that would be nice but i love exploring and going through mud/etc.

I am planning to document my build process on here and review the final product, hopefully getting others who are new to Fat bikes to do the same.

I've got a 4wd and love adventuring, I can also work on my car myself so I dont see why I cant build a bike - with your help of course! But first - to select the right parts. I want to get it right the first time. I am in Australia - so lots of sand and dirt along with some mud, no snow.

So my intentions are:
    * Build the lightest possible bike without compromising the reliability too much
    * Budget - $3000-4000 or so. What a sham that was: so far paid $5500 in total (thats including all the tools, greases, tubeless setup parts, etc)
    * Fattest lightest tires (lightest out of the fat ones)

Please let me know whats wrong/how you would improve the parts I selected:
    1) Frame - ICAN SN01 16" - 197x12mm thru axle