Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Best rear tire?

mtbr member

Best rear tire?

In the market for a new rear tire to replace the aging Endomorph, and since I am new to the fat bike game I am open to suggestions. I am thinking a Nate to pair with Larry in the front, but what are the thoughts on the Husker Du for the rear? Anyone running a Knard 26?

This is on a Pugs by the way. Thanks in advance!

Smash Mode: ON
    Best for what?
    Whatever floats your bike, dude

mtbr member

Best rear tire?

If you aren't going to be running a lot of snow time, I would pass on the Nate. Awesome tire, but noisy and slow. I just put a Husker du on the back for the dirt season and really like it so far. If you can swallow the price for the lightweight ones, do it.

surly and rigid
    Apr 2004
    Nate for rocks and mud.

mtbr member
    the kind that never flats.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by nvphatty View Post
    the kind that never flats.
    In other words, any tire that you can run tubeless?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by BoogieMang View Post
    In other words, any tire that you can run tubeless?
    i wouldn't step out that far..

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    On-One Floaters are 1/2 the price of the 120 tpi Surly tires. I don't think that they can be beat for price/performance right now.

mighty sailin' man
    Quote Originally Posted by Dustin Mustangs View Post
    Best for what?
    ^ this

more info needed. What are you riding on?
    Quote Originally Posted by davidarnott
    wheelies, beyond being the best way over any sort of obstacle, both above or below, are are the steedliest expresstion of joy

mtbr member
    grass

mtbr member
    I guess I should have been more specific... What would be the best trail tire? I am using the Pugs as my normal, everyday MTB.

mtbr member
    I actually love the Nate/Nate combo for trail. It simply hooks up, and will be your best, no-compromise gripper for more aggressive trail use.