mtbr member
    Apr 2016

Best rear hub to build with.

If price is not an issue what is strongest/best Hub to go with on a custom build 27.5 - TA going to use Jackelope rim. Thanks.

Elitest thrill junkie
    Strongest engagement? Low POE DT Swiss probably, the lower the POE, the more material is behind the teeth of the ratchet and that's an awesome mechanism for putting power down. Otherwise, most hub shells are not significantly different. Most other freehub mechanisms are not very different. Price is good on the DT 350 vs the other higher end options too. I have hope hubs too, they are good, easy to service and punch out the bearings, but a little heavier and the drive mechanism won't be as strong.

mtbr member
    I hear a bunch of buzz about Onyx.
    Yamaguchi Cross • YT Jeffsy • Salsa Mukluk & Vaya • Canyon Commuter

All fat, all the time.
    I've been running hope hubs for 10+ years, no issues or complaints.
    If it wasn't for the fancy colors of Hope (& price, find at CRC for$218), then I'd consider DT Swiss for sure.
    Last edited by Shark; 02-04-2017 at 08:01 PM.

Human Test Subject
    Onyx so when some nerd with loud i9s rolls by you can look down on them condescendingly and make snide remarks about them being poor.*

*I'm poor too. I bought my hubs with my wife's money.

mtbr member
    Onyx are very nice. They are smooth, instant engagement and silent, plus the company is awesome to deal with. They helped me out in a jam caused by a sram cassette.

I have had hope and I9. Meh

Second choice is DT Swiss, great hub for the money

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    Onyx is the best hub if price is not a consideration. The new lightweight driver is worth considering, more $$, but less weight. I have had three sets of 177/150 Onyx hubs, building #4 now. Once you go Onyx, only poverty will make you ride a lesser hub

DT Swiss with high POE is good hub for the price.

mtbr member