Biker Boater Boarder

Abominal Events Colo. Fat Bike Championships Como

I'm new to racing fat bikes and was curious what people thought of this years course in Como. Is that course "typical" in the fat bike racing world?
    Adios,
    "Chaco"

Lots of kids tell me they want to be firefighters when they grow up, I tell them they can't do both!

mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Laramie, Wyoming
    Summit, absolutely NOT. Ben put together a good event, but he failed to think about it would be a course that no one had used for anything else during the winter and that the snow would be crap if not groomed throughout the winter. You can't pack a course in a day or two that 50+ people are going to ride on.

Most courses are on ski trails or snowmobile trails that see traffic and grooming all winter. Yes, snow can do crazy things from one day to the next, but it is easier to get it back into a rideable condition if it has a packed base.

I didn't understand the need for them to add in the hill in the beginning just to have something that everyone had to drag their bikes through. The idea seemed to be that they wanted a spectator section showing crashes on the way back down. That's not a race. A lot of it was enjoyable if you went with someone that you could commiserate with but I'm a little upset that I wasted the money and time to go to an event like that.

Possibly the worst part was that there seemed to be a lot of first-timers who are left with the impression that fat bike races are events where you walk 90% of the time.

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    How many showed? Who won?

Laramie, Wyoming
    Quote Originally Posted by sbsbiker View Post
    How many showed? Who won?
    There were a lot of riders. As far as winning, there weren't many who chose to walk the five laps. Actually, about 10-15% of the course was rideable. Mostly, the finishers were chasing series points and there were only a handful of those.