Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    will rant for food
    Jan 2010

#5, almost alive

For people who've joined since spring 2012, I'll give you a quick summary so this post doesn't leave you entirely scratching your head: I'm an amateur, hobbyist frame builder. Materials of choice are bamboo and carbon fiber. I made the world's first bamboo fat bike, because... well, because. Here's take one and take two, my second and fourth frames, respectively.

Based on conversations during ride stops around local trails, and how much I enjoy some parts of the build process, I feel encouraged to try my hand at building custom frames for profit.

But there's a long way to go. The major gripes I have at the moment are front triangle stiffness and lug cosmetics. So far, I've constructed my own carbon fiber head tubes with a 49.57mm ID. That accommodates a big old headset, and very large diameter bamboo poles. This greatly mimics Boo Bicycles designs. So far I have ridiculously underestimated just how stout the down tube of a bike frame needs to be.

I have big ambitions, but I've learned to take things one step at a time. One reason that it is taking so much time is that I wanted to avoid using Kickstarter et al. I think what I want is within my grasp if I simply bide my time, and buy equipment that I want piecemeal... I'll have almost all the stuff that I would have received all at once from a Kickstarter. This way, I'll appreciate what I've earned, as opposed to feeling guilty about having things provided to me in addition to suddenly having tools, with pressure to perform, yet little to no practice using said tools.

So, I haven't built a frame in the entirety of the summer. LAME. But I'm getting close to being equipped the way I want.