mtbr member
    Apr 2012

2015 Salsa Beargrease 2

Hello,
    I didn't see a thread on this yet, so I thought I would start it to let Beargrease 2 (or even carbon) owners talk. first, I paid full price, and had to sacrifice a lot to get the money. So I may be bias..

This is my second Fatty, however I have been riding trails since the early 90s. I'm also a newb on the forum (long-time lurker).

I wanted a Beargrease due to the geometry and weight considerations. I plan on riding this all year round.

This bike flat out rips!! Night and day from my old Framed. It hammers so much better. It almost feels like a traditional skinny tire on how it maneuvers. It climbs better then my old Trance as well.

I have only had it for a week, but have been on 3 rides so far (25 miles). Our snow has for the most part all melted away. Last month it was a powder-packed paradise, but now, its just cold and hard.

So far, the BG has seen: traditional dirt, ice, and hardpack snow. I can't wait to try it in a little deeper snow, but I truly feel this bike can be ridden no matter what the conditions!

Only mod so far is ditching the 2x10. So much cleaner.

Basically, my first impressions are, this is the bike I have been looking for my whole life. So much fun.
    Spot Rocker
    Log Lady 27+ SS
    Beargrease
    RSD Catalyst dirt road bike
    On One fixed
    SantaCruz SS ('99)

mtbr member
    Congratulations. You sound pretty excited about it, and you should be...Nice bike.
    I really like the Salsa offerings...Beargrease, Mukluk ti, etc..
    Enjoy
    - MOOTS Mooto X
    - Salsa Fargo
    - Niner RLT9

banned
    Sep 2008
    Sweet ride! If i were in the market for a new ride, the beargrease 2 would be it. Alu and all. Perfect.

rog

mtbr member
    Sep 2014
    Nice, I have 15 Carbon and also love it, every ride is just a treat!

Love the Blue, it's the perfect shade!

Enjoy your bike!

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by fat_tires_are_fun View Post