Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2014

2014 Pugsley Owner

I am new to fat bikes and just bought a Pugsley. It is at the bike shop being assembled now. I am on the west coast, so the riding will be more sand and trail vs snow.

I went with the 45NRTH pedals. Other than that it is stock.

mtbr member
    Awesome, grats on the bike. What pushed you to a Pugs, opposed to a Muk 3 or something else?

mtbr member
    Jan 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by tyriverag View Post
    Awesome, grats on the bike. What pushed you to a Pugs, opposed to a Muk 3 or something else?
    Price and response from Surly. I was able to buy the pugs for $1600 delivered. I was close to buying a Salsa 3 and considered the Trek Farley. Really it came down to price and the fact that Surly answered my questions best and swayed my decision from Moonlander to Pugsley.

mtbr member
    Nice. From where did you purchase?

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    Welcome to the Clubsley Pug. For beach riding, the BFL's are pretty hard to beat, so if you can find a set of those, they will compliment the Nate's for trail riding.

mtbr member
    Jan 2014

Another one dives into the fat

Congrats, FoundinSB! I'm glad to see another cyclist going' fat! Could it have been the recent full moon that threw us over the edge? I also just threw caution to the sea breezes and made the plunge into Surly fatness! First, to get rollin' I ordered a custom wheel set built on black Marge Lites with the Alfine 8-spd hub and the Surly Ultra New Disc Fat Bike Hub, DT Swiss spokes and red nipples. Will be rollin' on Larrys.

Ordered the 20" Pugs frame in 'gawdawful green" (one of my favorite colors, as sometimes I like to blend in better with in the bushes and dune grass). Also, I didn't have much choice, and, dad-gummit!!!!... I "wanted it asap."