mtbr member
    Jun 2014

“Give” in while hard pedaling

I’ve been around eh bikes my whole life.. enough to know what two wheels and pedals will do for ya. The technical I’m a total noob.

I just had my LBS install a new megarange gear set on my Dolomite.

The previous unit was solid when pedaling but “click/clunk” when applying some human torque. Also would wiggle on the bike when moving it around to duplicate the noise with your fingers.

With the new mega range installed - it’s solid and no clunk and no more wiggles.

However, when I pedal hard (still sitting down) I feel what is like a soft spot when I first apply torque. I still pedal foward and it “locks in” solid but it’s just that first initial lunge there is a soft spot. In terms of pedal rotation it’s around 1/4 of full revolution.

Now I’m not sure if it’s really rock solid tight and I’m just putting down enough power to cause the rear wheel to spin out a bit before momentum overcomes power? But it seemed to do it on the even higher (or is it lower/harder) gears. Which is what leads me to think it’s more mechanical than me just being awesomely strong (which is NOT the case!)

Otherwise, the bike rides great. My LBS service tech said he took it for a spin (to make sure it shifted smooth) and he didn’t mention anything about it.

**in case anyone cares, it’s a great bike for going to grab beer/roam the neighbor hood and for camp trips. I paid $225 for the bike, $11 for the seat, $18 shipped for the mega range & $14 for the bike rack and for a personal touch, $6 for a red license plate. $274 in total parts, $25 for service hubs/install gear set for $300 overall- not bad for a slice of pleasure. And no, I would not spend $700+ for a fat tire bike. I could not justify the use of a “better” bike in that price range.**

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Frame/drivetrain/tire flex
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

mtbr member
    Jun 2014