mtbr member
    Apr 2011

What to do with kids that want to race downhill...

I've been riding downhill with my 9 year old son for about two years. We've got a new build project underway that is the culmination of two years of experimenting trying to find and/or build bikes that will work for him. Our experiment started with attempts to ride our XC bikes down the intermediate trails at Snowshoe. (Mine with the seat still jacked up!). In the rain. It wasn't pretty.

If there is interest...I'll put some energy into discussing what we've learned going from rentals, to his own Stinky 24, to a small SX Trail, to this project. Any guesses!?What to do with kids that want to race downhill...-image.jpg

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    how was the stinky? I've got a line on a used 2009 in good condition for my 9 year old to ride downhill here in northern utah. Is the weight an issue on that thing?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    The Stinky 24 was a good bike for giving things a try. It had all the basics that you need to get a good feel for riding at a bike park, or any place with lift assist or shuttles to get you to the top. It is not a good fit for places with lots of pedaling uphill. We went from the Stinky to the SX Trail when he progressed to the point where his speed exceeded the ability of the 100mm dirt jump fork to provide a manageable ride. I ran low psi to keep the ride as smooth as possible. But when he got to the point I had to start ramping Psi up to keep him from pinch flatting I knew it was time for a change. The spring rate is very high for a small rider.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    With a real-deal DH bike his skills are progressing very fast. On this new XS Demo, there are trail types and conditions that he goes as fast as I do. I ride competitively in CAT2 age 40-49. I feel sure that 80 pound kids are able to fully leverage the advantages of a proper DH frame geometry and tuned suspension.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004