mtbr member
    Aug 2013

RS Reverb stealth with a trail-a-bike

Does anyone know if attaching a trail-a-bike mount/bike to the stationary portion of a Reverb dropper post will be ok or will it result in damage? I'm guessing the answer is don't do it but I'd really like to use my new bike with my son versus my 18 year old rigid when I hit the gravel rail trails... I didn't see anything on this on the SRAM website and didn't get any do's/don'ts when I bought the bike last year but intuition says this may prove to be an expensive pursuit...

Thanks

mtbr member
    May 2011
    You could always get a second old seat and seatpost that you keep the hitch attached to, swap it out when you take the trail-a-bike.

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Thought about using a 2nd seat/post but don't think that is really practical due to the reverb's internally routed hose (I bought the bike with the seat on it so I have no real experience with installing these posts but it doesn't seem like they are able to be swapped in and out easily...)

CJH
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    We looked into this and were told RS advises against it, but they're probably being conservative.

As far as switching them out, our shop said not to do with the Stealth my wife has and that if I tried it with my non-stealth to remove the whole system to avoid having to bleed the hydraulics every time.

I decided that if I got a trail a bike I'd just get an old hard tail to use it with.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    I just have a regular RS Reverb (not the stealth), and I have pulled the trail-a-bike, and even someone behind the trail-a-bike for hundreds of miles on decent singletrack uphills and downhills with no problems. Still smooth as when I first got it, just has some more scratches on it than normal.

CJH
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by BullSCit View Post