mtbr member

Ok..need some help from you experts..he is ready to come moutnain biking with me

My oldest is 10 and is 55.5" tall. ready to hit some trails. He actually did years ago on his 16" bike and did *ok*. I am torn between 24" or v. small 26". What say you? He has 2 younger bros. so they will get use out of whatever I buy.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

turtles make me hot
    I just measured my 8 year old before he fell asleep. He's 54 inches tall. I have him on a 24" wheeled bike I built for him and it fits perfectly.
    Last year, he was beginning to look too big for his 20" bike. I tried to sit him on some small 26" bikes in the bike shop but they were too big, so I did the 24". He's been on this bike since July. He'll probably be ready for a 26er by the spring. Since you have two younger ones, you can't lose starting with a 24" bike in my opinion. This one's my youngest.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    My oldest is 10 and is 55.5" tall. ready to hit some trails. He actually did years ago on his 16" bike and did *ok*. I am torn between 24" or v. small 26". What say you? He has 2 younger bros. so they will get use out of whatever I buy.
    He could "fit" an XS 26" bike - but it will not be confidence inspiring trying to push big wheels up the hills unless you get some sort of 1200g wheel set and light tires. I'd go for a 24", let him ride it this season then think about the next level if he is ready or has a big growth spurt.

Wēk Ss
    Yeah, I'd go 24" first as well.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    My daughter is 4'-4" and we bought her a 13" specialized Hardrock which fits her good. Originally we were going to get her a newer 24" bike but figured this one sporting 26" tires would give her more years of riding.

mtbr member
    Dec 2003