Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Need tips on how to get kids to want to ride

Looking for any suggestions on how to get older kids to want to ride. My husband and I started riding about 1-1/2 years ago and both love it. We also wanted to get our now 14 yr old and 12 yr old riding. Both kids have nice bikes that have lots of upgrades. We bought them cool biking wear, camel backs etc.. we have tried easy rolling trails, fun but not too difficult single track, indoor bike park but all they do is complain and make everyone miserable to the point we don't go. We have offered to bring their friends but their friends don't want to go.We don't have any kids clubs or groups anywhere near us so that is not an option. We also don't have family near by so if the kids don't go with us to out of town rides we can't go. We do go out a few hours locally once a week by ourselves but can't leave the kids by themselves all the time or overnight so we can get out more.

I guess the key is to start them young but it's too late for that. I would love some input from anyone who has had a similar problem and found a solution or any recommendations or suggestions we can try.

mtbr member
    As a dad of a daughter that has no interest in mtn biking I have come to the realization that she might never want to go offroading. For her, biking is a social event (riding with friends) or transportation to something fun (riding to the park). So if I want to ride with her, we ride on her terms: with friends to the park. Not my cup of tea but I do it to be with her and get her off the couch.

Luckily we also have a boy that enjoys mtn biking.
    Please visit my bike blog! And if you click a few banner ads, I wouldn't complain!
    http://realworldbiking.blogspot.com

mtbr member
    May 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Sagwa View Post