mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Hydration Pack Recommendation

I am trying to find a hydration pack for my 8 year old to use while out and about with me this summer, but outside of the Camelbak ones for kids, am not finding a whole lot else. While I am fine with the Camelbak, they are pretty expensive. I can find some other brands, but I think 100oz (and possibly 70oz) packs are going to just be too much extra weight for him to haul around.

Anyone have any recommendations?

Thanks.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Hydration packs are great for kids but you have to keep the water amount small. Keep the volume to 35-50 oz. More than that adds a bunch of weight that their bodies aren't used to. I've been using them with my girls since 4 years old. Hiking, beach, field trips etc. I don't know of many companies offering kids options though. I use some older Cbak styles.

mtbr member
    Jun 2007
    But considering the fact that hydration packs are worth their weight in gold I'd go for one for sure. Wouldn't be without mine. Like was said you don't have to fill it full but it is such a convenient way to ride and guzzle. My camelback has been going for going on 5 years now.
    Half our life is spent trying to find something to do with the time we have rushed through life trying to save

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    My 4 year old uses a Camelbak model that is tiny and for kids, not sure of the name but his has flames on it. I think we fill it with 25 oz or so. He loves it and we'll get a ton of use out of it I'm sure. I would think that a hydration pack for a kid would not be a common item so it might be just the Camelbak one that is available. $50 isn't bad!
    Transition Bandit 29
    Surly Ogre
    Surly Necro Pugs w/ Lefty PBR
    Surly Big Dummy

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    My son uses a Camelbak mini mule. Works awesome. It's important that it wears comfortable and they stay hydrated. Try REI. They may have some other brands for kids.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009