mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Changing Hotrock from Pink to Orange - is it paint or powder?

Hi...

Donating my HR (think it's '07 model) to my neighbor as I inherited my nephew's bike for my son. This HR has created many wonderful memories for my daughter's and I'd like to treat it right so your assistance would help. I've reviewed the threads and just want someone to confirm for me if this is paint or not. I'm not an expert but I think it is vs Powder Coat

So I think we can basically give it a nice sanding job and hit it with multiple layers of Rustoleum dark orange is what's he's thinking.

Any suggestions on proper processes is always appreciated.

Smkntrls

I've got an outdate Flash that I'm having trouble updating on my Mac so pics coming soon.
    Last edited by SMKNTRLS; 04-19-2013 at 01:08 PM.

turtles make me hot
    I've stripped bikes with Rock Miracle, Sandpaper, Scotchbrite and even a glass beader.

Once you get it stripped, clean it good, primer and Rustoleum. If they happen to make the color you want in the Hard Hat line, it's extra tough.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Sep 2011
    Thank yo NYrr496! I'm thinking of cutting out Scotchbrite pads or some sander pads (80 grit, maybe too coarse?) that will fit on my circular sander and take most of it off that way. I was going to use some alcohol to clean it prior to primer. Thanks again for the feedback! Have a good ride weekend!

Smkntrls

mtbr member
    Just changed my little ones HR from Purple to Black.
    I could have sanded and reprinted but chose to take it to the local powder coaters.
    It was with them for 3 days and now has a deep smooth gloss finish.
    Total cost 40
    It would have cost me more in materials not including time and also removed the risk of paint reactions.
    I believe it's also a much tougher finish, and can be worked on straight away where as paint can take months to fully set.
    MTB:
    09 Stumpy Elite
    10 Enduro Pro Custom
    16" HotRock Custom

Road: