mtbr member

DH and FR in Germany

Hi all! I'm in mulheim germany until may and I came prepared for snowboarding lol not mtn biking. Had no idea it was so big here. The weathers beautiful. And I got the itch!

Anyways when I say im a noob its with respect to downhilling. I mostly ride xc but I've been to moab and rode slickrock, porcupine and amossaback and I was comfortable.

So I was wondering if willingen would be reasonable. I've always wanted to try dh and I think I could get by with buying some freeriding shoes, shorts and gloves and rent the rest. The question is will I be wayyyyyy over my head or are there some trails for novices?

Also if anyone is out here and wants to show me the lines at willingen ill buy your dinner and a few rounds!

Peace!
    Last edited by grejji; 03-28-2011 at 09:48 AM.

Bike's hmmm nice
    Willingen has 2,5 lines. 1 freeride track that is very friendly but loads of fun. Than there is the downhill track that has full on gaps and drops. It's rideable at a slower pace, but I'm pretty scared of going big up there. And at the bottom of the downhill track is the 4cross track.

All and all very accessable, no need for a guide other than having fun and sharing the beers after. Talking about that: Willingen is well known for it's German stag parties. Freaky Germs (man en woman) totally wasted on booze trying to get down the tracks or the lift. At the last rides of the day they are your biggest danger.

Shop and rental at the bottom of the lift. Open for riding when the snow is gone. Friendly guys with good gear.

Other option in Winterberg, way more tracks and options. But the season is shorter, so check online if they are open.

mtbr member
    I just called them and they said 2 or 3 weeks until they open. Looks like I have some time to gather my gear!