mtbr member

What do you do for endurance training?

I consider myself an amateur and I've never had formal training but recently I started riding on zones and completing certain goals according to my zones. I feel like I need lots of riding but don't have that much time to train. I ride twice a week a 3 hours ride on zone 2 and weekends I usually train technique on courses.

How do you guys train for endurance rides?

Enviado desde mi C6906 mediante Tapatalk
    Visit my Photography WEBSITE
    Like me on FACEBOOK

LMN
    mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    If you are looking to build endurance consistency is the key. Set a goal of riding five times a week for 1 to 2hrs. Once you have hit that target then start adding length to one or two of the rides.

The best part is you can combine endurance training and technique training. The longer your endurance rides are the more climbing you have to do and the more climbing you do, the more descending you do.
    "The best pace is suicide pace, and today is a good day to die." Steve Prefontaine

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by LMN View Post
    If you are looking to build endurance consistency is the key. Set a goal of riding five times a week for 1 to 2hrs. Once you have hit that target then start adding length to one or two of the rides.

The best part is you can combine endurance training and technique training. The longer your endurance rides are the more climbing you have to do and the more climbing you do, the more descending you do.
    So I would be aiming at zone 3 ride or 2 hours at zone 2 for five days instead of twice a week 3 hour zone 2 rides?

I really want to get faster and more stamina on my rides. I heard people saying that I should be doing longer rides that the ones I will compete. For example train with 50 mile rides if I'm doing a 35-40 miles race. Kind of like that.

Like me on FACEBOOK

mtbr member