mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Jumping in Enduro?

Hi guys, I have been riding for a few years and have always been into all-mountain, enduro riding. I had to race mostly XC during high school so I never really raced enduro or really rode the discipline that I loved. Now it's been about 7 months since I have ridden consistently I needed a break and now I want to to get back in and start racing some Enduro. I am trading out my bike and getting a jekyll for some better descending capabilities. My question lies in training, I know well how to train endurance and fitness etc. I have always been decent at technical terrain corners, but I have always been terrified of drops and jumps. And I know this is something I will need for enduro. I can do small gap jumps, and drops up to 3 feet about but more than that and I just get sketched out. Does anyone know any mental techniques or ways of practicing to where I can work up to the bigger stuff. Sorry if this question is a little vague, just curious how everyone else got over the fear of being in the AIR. haa

Thanks,
    Thomas

mtbr member
    Invest in some (or rent) protective gear (Full face, knee pads, etc) and go to a bike park and take a clinic.

Also, if you have local dirt jumps, see if they have an beginner/intermediate line and go ride them...you don't need a dirt jump bike to have fun and learn a lot.

The key is progression. Work on smaller stuff until you can do it comfortably and smoothly. Then keep pushing onto bigger things. Ride with people who are better than you and have more skills.

Just be smart about it, sure you might land that sketchy, big drop on your local shuttle run, but don't go way out of your comfort zone. That leads to broken bike and people parts.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by 8valvegrowl View Post
    Invest in some (or rent) protective gear (Full face, knee pads, etc) and go to a bike park and take a clinic.