mtbr member

East coast race wheels

The wheels on my one bike are 26" Flows. They're fine, but I'm thinking about picking up a second set to give me some lighter, faster options, mostly for enduro racing. I could still choose the Flows if the course is gnarly enough, but I think I could get by with less burly wheels most of the time, even on rocky, rooty East Coast courses. My fitness could use all the help it can get.

I'm about 180# (82 kg) geared up. I'm pretty easy on gear. I rarely need to true wheels. But I'm no pro. (I've been running 2.35 Hans Dampf trailstar tubeless front and back, but I'm going to try out 2.35 Hans Dampf pacestar front and 2.25 Nobby Nic gatestar back, tubeless.)

Am thinking about Crest in front and Arch EX or Crest in back.

Thoughts?

mtbr member
    The rear wheel is my biggest question; I'm reasonably sure a Crest in front is worth a try. But for the rear, I wonder if a Crest would be strong enough, while I wonder if an Arch EX would make enough of a difference vs the Flow I have to be worth the $$ and the slightly narrower profile.

Advertised rim weights:
    510g Flow
    400g Arch EX
    340g Crest

Internal width:
    22.8 mm Flow
    21.0 mm Arch EX
    21.0 mm Crest

Formerly of Kent
    I'd suggest looking at the 30mm wide Chinese carbon AM rims.

mtbr member
    Yeah, I'm considering that route too. Thread here. Stiffer, wider, lighter (~360 g or 400g), somewhat more expensive ($150 per rim, plus shipping, plus I'd be paying to build them up).
    Last edited by OldManBike; 10-27-2012 at 09:50 AM.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Just a thought, consider the width of the front rim so you have a decent profile on the Hans. I would much rather have the front end tracking, and if things are going to push/drift, have that happen in the rear.