mtbr member
    Mar 2005

Speedplay Frogs anyone?

I used to ride Speedplay road pedals and currently have SPDs on all my bikes. I like the SPDs but wish they had more float.

I have used Times but broke them, same for Crank Bros. Mulitple warranties with both so won't use them again.

The Speedplay Frogs look good from a float standpoint, but I am curious how the pedals hold up to:

Mud
    Extended hike a bikes

If they could handle these as well as SPDs I would like to try some out.

Any feedback on these pedals much appreciated.

mtbr member
    I've been wondering the same thing lately, I've been wanting to make the switch over from xtr's. Hoping for something with a bit more platform and more float. so hopefully someone has some feedback.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    I've been using Speedplay frogs for 11+ yrs. I very happy with them, the amount of float, the cleat engagement, the size of the platform and the ease and low cost of rebuilding them are all positives in my book. I've have used XTR's, Crank bros. and Ritchey's. They cleats can be a bit tricky to set up when using stiff soled shoes, espicially Sidi and the platform body seem to become brittle after a season or 2. Theytend to lose chunks of material though they still work with big pieces missing. I've ridden them in mud, snow, dry sand, dirt, racing XC, CX, hundred milers, 24hr races, rocky singletrack and and they have always performed well.
    Last edited by RyderX; 02-07-2012 at 04:21 PM. Reason: Clarity

LightJunction.com
    I bought some a while back, but after installing them, I decided to use them on my around-town commuter. There's a little rubber piece in the cleat that seems like it could get torn up by packed-in mud. I'm curious about the durability as well. I can't say I've ever seen a pair out on the trail.
    We sell quality bike headlights and flashlights.
    www.LightJunction.com

mtbr member
    Sep 2011