Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Saddle sores in the butt-hole from Ergon saddle?

16K views 36 replies 27 participants last post by  JMac47 
#1 ·
Anybody here experienced saddle-sores on the butt-hole from Ergon saddles? I just finished my first 25 hour solo mtb race this weekend, and experienced pain where I've never experienced it before. The Ergon saddle has been amazingly comfortable for the most part. However, I'm wondering if the saddle drops down two much for the sitt-bones, leaving the potential for things to rub in the center?

I'm new to ultra-distance, so perhaps this is just something to get used to. Didn't even thing of putting chamois cream there. Should I consider changing saddles, or is thing just something that can happen on a 20+ hour race?

#5 ·
Hmm... good point. Never had one so I don't know. I had no such issue riding my road bike for over 20 hours straight a month ago, but perhaps the rough mtb course did it. Seems like a friction problem though.

Why did I read this while eating lunch
Sorry dude. I know it's not a plesant topic, but if you start racing such distances, it's a serious issue. Don't know too many people personally do races like this....

#10 · (Edited)
Anybody here experienced saddle-sores on the butt-hole from Ergon saddles? I just finished my first 25 hour solo mtb race this weekend, and experienced pain where I've never experienced it before. The Ergon saddle has been amazingly comfortable for the most part. However, I'm wondering if the saddle drops down two much for the sitt-bones, leaving the potential for things to rub in the center? ...
Do you remember every bit of that 25 hours? No roofies? No alien abduction? You don't have the saddle mounted vertically nose up do you?

Sorry. I know, absolutely no useful information.