Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Saddle sores in the butt-hole from Ergon saddle?

Anybody here experienced saddle-sores on the butt-hole from Ergon saddles? I just finished my first 25 hour solo mtb race this weekend, and experienced pain where I've never experienced it before. The Ergon saddle has been amazingly comfortable for the most part. However, I'm wondering if the saddle drops down two much for the sitt-bones, leaving the potential for things to rub in the center?

I'm new to ultra-distance, so perhaps this is just something to get used to. Didn't even thing of putting chamois cream there. Should I consider changing saddles, or is thing just something that can happen on a 20+ hour race?

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Why did I read this while eating lunch

Dirty South Underdog
    Are you sure it's not a hemorrhoid?
    Brickhouse Blog (most known unknown)

Just Riding Along- best internet radio show on Mountain Bike Radio

AZ
    banned
    Correct saddle width? AFAIK the Ergon is available in several widths.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Andrea138 View Post
    Are you sure it's not a hemorrhoid?
    Hmm... good point. Never had one so I don't know. I had no such issue riding my road bike for over 20 hours straight a month ago, but perhaps the rough mtb course did it. Seems like a friction problem though.

Quote Originally Posted by spsoon View Post
    Why did I read this while eating lunch
    Sorry dude. I know it's not a plesant topic, but if you start racing such distances, it's a serious issue. Don't know too many people personally do races like this....

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Dirty $anchez View Post
    Correct saddle width? AFAIK the Ergon is available in several widths.