mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Need Nee Xc Bike Help

Hi Guys,
    I need help choosing a new Xc Bike. I am 14 110lbs and about 5'4. I race in the WORS Series and just last race at Treadfest I realized I need a full suspension. Right now I have a Trek 4100 2004. I have put some upgrades on it. I realized I need a full suspension when I hit a hard bump and my seat knocked loose and messed up my entire race. Those bumps are brutal. I am thinking about a Specialized Epic or a Trek Superfly Fs. My budget is $2000. And suggestions will help. Thanks

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    I'm a huge fan of the Superfly. They just released the 6, which includes a Deore drivetrain and Shimano's M395 brakeset. I'm definitely biased, working at a indy Trek dealer... but working with them and dealing with their bikes, I would definitely go this route.
    Superfly FS 6 - New! - Trek Bicycle

Your Best Friend

Re: Need Nee Xc Bike Help

Here's my opinion...I'm a high school coach so I see quite a few kids just like you. You do not "need" a full suspension bike. You just need to work on your skills. $2000 does not buy a lot of FS. However that will buy a very decent HT. Uograde to something light and with a better fork and components. Then go out and work at it.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by AdamPlaysDrums View Post
    I'm a huge fan of the Superfly. They just released the 6, which includes a Deore drivetrain and Shimano's M395 brakeset. I'm definitely biased, working at a indy Trek dealer... but working with them and dealing with their bikes, I would definitely go this route.
    Superfly FS 6 - New! - Trek Bicycle
    Thanks my trek is starting to show signs of wear. I bent and axel, rear derailliar, and rim while training. I am getting ready for a new bike

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Silentfoe View Post