more skier than biker
    Nov 2006

Lighting Strategies for Solo 24 Hr Race

I'm signed up for my first solo 24 hr race in June and at the moment, my biggest concern is how best to deal with my lights. I've done a bunch of solo Hundos, lots of 8 hour solos, and some 4 man team 24 events....so I have a pretty good idea with how I want to train, what works for me nurtrition wise, etc. But I'm a raging newb when it comes to optimizing my light set up for a solo 24 effort.

I'll have ample pit support and am planning on bringing two bikes. My primary geared FS race bike and my Ti 29er SS hard tail as a backup. One strategy I am considering is having two light setups...and as I head out at dusk when I need my lights, have my SS backup bike already setup with lights and just grab it and go. Then when I'm out on that lap, my pit crew can set my primary bike up with it's system and then I can switch out again on the next lap (or stay on the SS a bit longer for the change of pace).

Throughout the night I'll need to recharge a few times so having the two bikes will help facilitate that with minimal pit stoppage time.

My current lights are not that great either.... Just a MiNewt 600 that I don't particularly like but it was won in a raffle and free so I've using it and an older MagicShine. Neither of these have particularly long burn times or brightness so I'm in the market for something more worthy with all the above considerations....

Thanks in advance for any input, stories or suggestions.
    Last edited by Tyrone Shoelaces; 03-05-2013 at 09:29 PM.

Feral Roadie
    Got no experience with 24hr racing... But these guys are local and make a very nice light. I've got their helmet mounted LED light and it's much better than my Magicshine.

Jetlites :: Complete Systems

You might call them up and ask if they are renting lights at the race. They often do that for local Tahoe Races.

- Booker C. Bense

mtbr member
    May 2007