old skool newbie

Leadville 100 or bust

This year I am entered into the Leadville 100 bike race and have been psyching myself up for it since I sent in my entry form in January. It’ll be my first mountain bike race, (although I am no newbie to Mountain biking) and cutting my teeth on a 100 mile, high-altitude event may have been a stretch. I have read all the on-line accounts I could find, and have begun to put in the extra saddle time required. My mental and physical status swings like a great pendulum; some days I feel as if I could beat the course record tomorrow (in reality I’m not even close) and other times I am hoping to just finish in 13 hours.

Since I seem to have exhausted my anecdotal resources and this is only March, how about sharing some of yours. Thoughts on previous 100s’ (LT100 or others) training plans, the course, tips, and even threats are welcomed.

Time to go farther
    Aug 2004

Ride a lot

I did it last year for the first time and DNF'd at mile 76 (10 hours flat). I did not train anywhere near enough. I registered again this year and got in.

My training is going well this year and I am determined to make that DNF disappear with a strong finish. Ride a lot, especially climbing and practicing your nutrition. These were my 2 big weaknesses last year. I have put in 1500 base miles between the road, FS gearie and SS since Jan 1. I've already completed White Rim in a day (100 miles off road) and tomorrow will be my second road century of the year. All these miles have been relatively easy for the most part. I"m not starting hill repeats or intervals for another few weeks at least and even then I will ease into it. August is a long time away.

The race is very fun though and you will have a great time. If you have more specific questions I'm glad to answer them the best I can and I'm sure others will join in as well.
    On-One Lurcher SS
    Speedway Cycles Fatback Ti SS
    1984 Trek 560