mtbr member
    Oct 2016

General training approach for power-based training?

I've been training and road racing using a power meter for almost 10 years. I do a mix of structured training and group rides, but the general approach is:

1-2 months of endurance/low tempo (depending on starting fitness)
    1.5 months of high tempo and FTP work
    1.5 months of Vo2
    Rest week every 4th week
    At that point, I'm ready for racing and group rides to build remaining fitness. I think that's a pretty standard approach to road training, everyone changes the details to suit their schedules and goals.

I'm new to MTB racing (did a couple races this year) and really interested in doing some marathon races this year and Leadville or one of the other 100 milers later in the year.

I'm wonder how I should adjust my training approach for Marathon MTB. My gut says more tempo/high volume and FTP and less Vo2 (since I can't see spending much time in this zone while racing). I still think there is some value in V02, but I always need to cut way back on volume when doing V02 work and figure that might do more harm than good for endurance events.

I'm not looking for a specific plan, but wondering if there is a general phased/balanced approach that most use for endurance MTB. Any guidance is appreciated.

mtbr member
    Nov 2017
    I am following Alban Lakata, who lives not far from me, on Strava. He does a lot of baserides of course, but also VO2max. It is really interesting to see how his coaches mix it up. From shorter 8min efforts at FTP to 30 min Tempo intervals. As you feel yourself VO2max demands reduced volume or quality rest, but IMO there is room for VO2max also for marathon racers, After all lifting your aerobic engine is what we work for....

LMN
    mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    The benifits of MAP or Vo2 training happen quite quickly. After 6 workouts (a three week block) you probably have gotten all the gains you are going to get.