Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member

Best hydrapack option

This year will be the first year I have been on 100 mile unsupported races. In the past endurance races I've done, there has always been support of some kind. I was wondering if just bottles is preferred, figuring you get water in 30-40 miles, or is a waterpack just the way to go, and what brand. I used a camelback for Ouachita 80 mile last year, and it felt heavy on my back and shoulders. Let me know.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Go to www.wingnutgear.com

All your questions will be answered there.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    I'd agree with Scooter. I have been riding and racing for 17 years. I've used every hydration pack known to mankind and I have a shelf of disgarded packs to prove it. Wingnut can be pricey though they're comfortable enought for a hundred miler race or just a 2 hour XC ride. I own 2 different models, a Hyper 2.5 for endurance racing and an Assault for shorter races and general XC riding. The coool thing about the 2.5 is that all of the storage pockets are accesible while riding.
    http://wingnutgear.com/product_detai...product_id=126
    http://wingnutgear.com/product_detai...product_id=117

mtbr member
    Apr 2009

In FTF We Trust
    Has anyone ridden with both the Ergon and Wingnut packs? I've been using an Ergon off and on (way more off than on) the past few years and it still gives my back grief. Granted, maybe I need to further adjust it but I'm curious if the Wingnut would work better for me.
    "I'll disintegrate over time if I expect my body to try to keep up with my mind" -BM

Race, Rocks or Road...Just Ride

mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Another for Wingnut

Solved the problem of feeling the weight on back, neck, arms.

mtbr member
    innov-8

mtbr member
    Aug 2009