Thread: Rear vibration

mtbr member
    Oct 2006

Rear vibration

Hi all- new to the forums and a new Ellsworth owner. Have a 2006 Epiphany and love it. I still pretty much suck as a mountainbiker and the bike far exceeds my skill level, but getting better. I am an amateur bike mechanic as well and need some help. I am experiencing a very audible vibration in the rear of the bike. I have a King rear hub and I already partly dissasembled it and greased the bearings I could get too. The sound is coming from the rear of the bike and I can feel the vibration all over the frame. The vibration is strongest in the rear triangle. I have recently changed the entire drive train. I have read about there being some bearings on the Epiphany. I am a noob, so could anyone tell me if they are possibly the culprit, or are there any ideas as to what could be causing this?

Time is not a road.
    So, is it vibrating while coasting, braking, pedalling? Just for peace of mind, you might check with a shop to make sure the dropouts are straight.

mtbr member
    Oct 2006

try a different wheel...

I find it very hard to imagine thaht a vibration could be coming from your pivot bearings. Especially on a new bike.

if the bearings were defective somehow, i still cannot see what would cause them to vibrate, there would have to be some sort of outside force at play. Its easy enough to check all of your pivot bolts though. And you can get some idea of smoothness of the bearings by detaching the shock at the top mount and removing the rear wheel and just articulating the 4-bar linkage through its range of travel.

I would say that the most common cause of vibration (and creaking) would be due to cables and cable housing. Sometimes this is very hard to identify, and the sound/ vibration can appear to come from somewhere far away from the actual source.

If you have a different wheel/ tire you can try this and eliminate the wheel from the equation.