mtbr member
    Nov 2005

Fifteenth Annual Ellsworth Jam Kicks off in Moab

Fifteenth Annual Ellsworth Jam Kicks off in Moab

MOAB, Utah—Nearly 50 Ellsworth owners from around the world are converging this weekend for Ellsworth’s 15th annual owners gathering.

After a welcome reception last night at the Ellsworth Compound (a hijacked condo complex), riders met up this morning as the sun was just coming up for a breakfast catered by Escape Adventures, the tour group run by Moab Cyclery.

After a hot breakfast of pancakes, sausage, fresh fruit and coffee the Ellsworth Convoy headed out to ride Klondike Bluff.

The weekend’s events include Ellsworth group rides Saturday and Sunday and two group dinners. Tonight the Ellsworth owners will converge on Moab Cyclery owner Jonny Hymas’ house for dinner and dirt jumps.

"I’ve been coming here for 30 years, every November since I was a student at BYU,” Tony Ellsworth said. “I call it my pilgrimage, and now with children and a business to run and a mortgage to pay, it’s only down to once a year. Over time I’ve invited friends and it’s just sort of evolved into this. We've capped the attendence at 50 because we like keeping it personal.”

Hanging out with the group for the weekend are Ellsworth-sponsored pro riders Josh Bender and Monique Sawicki (who graces the latest cover of Mountain Bike).

"We’re all just here riding as friends,” said Ellsworth vice president Dave Wisenteiner, who announced the days activities at breakfast and introduced the pro riders and thanked all the Ellsworth owners for making the trip out.

Wisenteiner said that Ellsworth runs three other events throughout the season for Ellsworth owners to come and ride. He said the other trips—in Idaho, New Mexico and on Utah’s White Rim Trail—are usually smaller, more intimate groups, including Tony Ellsworth.