mtbr member
    Oct 2007

Epiphany sizing question

Hi all. First post here. I found these boards searching for good trails and I have done nothing but soak up all of the information I can here. Here is my info:

I am going to be getting a new Epiphany. I am 5'11", 175 lbs without gear, and aspire to be a better rider. I am still learning and loving every minute of it. I now have a Trek hard tail and need something to smooth out the ride in order to go eaiser on my back. I mostly ride single trac with lot's of roots and rocks, I live in Virginia. My question is:

Should I be getting a 17" or a 19" frame?

I appreciate all of your help.

John

MTB SOCAL
    I'm 5'10" with a 31.5 inch inseam. I'm riding a medium Epi with a straight seatpost and a 100 mm stem w/ low-riser bar. It fits me very well. My Thomson Masterpiece seatpost, however, is almost maxed (see pic). If you have longer legs, you may want to invest in a 400mm post.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Kokopelli Racing

"Curb drops to flat, or curb drops to transition? There's a BIG difference there." Qfactor03

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    Would a medium be a 17" frame? I see frame sizes as 15", 17", and 19". Please pardon my ignorance.

John

MTB SOCAL
    Ellsworth bikes are usually sized S, M, and L. They tend to have shorter seat-tubes (sloping top tube) than comparable sized bikes from other makers - so more seatpost will be exposed and improving standover clearance. I think the medium is closer to what you are calling a 17". A better way to measure would probably be by the top tube length. The medium still has a longish top tube, so you should be okay on a med. Check out Ells website: http://ellsworthbikes.com/BIKE-ellsworth-epiphany.php for more specifics. Good luck.
    Kokopelli Racing

"Curb drops to flat, or curb drops to transition? There's a BIG difference there." Qfactor03

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    Thanks, I just figured it all out.

mtbr member

Make sure you try Large frame