VooDoo user.

DARE made its way to.......

the Ellsworth website. Check it out for more info.

Just an FYI.

KOKOPELLI RACING
    makes my old-school dare sound like a piece of crap.
    kokopelli racing

Outcast
    The Dare uses a 2.5 stroke shock for it's 9 inches of travel; that's a leverage ratio of 3.6 to 1. I'm sorry, I realize they don't have enough room in the frame for a longer stroke shock, but that is just dumb. It appears appearance/appeal outweighed common sense in this design.

mtbr member
    Mar 2005
    I almost wonder if that's a misprint. The old Dare and current Rogue both use a 8.75"x2.75". A much more respectable, but still high 3.3 to 1.

El Malo
    I realize that the Dare ICT suspension system may not match or supercede the lesser stressed systems other manufacturers have to offer, and granted, I am not a pro racer, but I have thoroughly enjoyed my '05 Dare, which is equiped with an 8.75x2.80 shock on a solid chassis capable of handling everything I can throw at it plus many Whistler / Shore outings without having to replace said shock. Much less damage the frame.
    I guess it also matters how abusive or smooth the rider is with their equipment.
    Bottom line, this bike pedals, climbs and descends beautifully.

In addition, dare I say that categorizing the Moment as a Freeride bike is a bit much ?!
    It IS a killer trailbike day in and day out, tho'...

My curious questions are the following:
    - Whether or not Chris Glew, who is pictured in the Ellsworth website, is a sponsored rider ?
    - Also, there are regurgitated articles about Josh Bender's tragic fall 2yrs ago in Moab, but I don't see any videos or literature that features Bender as a sponsored ambassador of Ellsworth FR/DH bikes... WHY ?
    "... the only thing we have to fear is fear itself - "

mtbr member
    Nov 2006

Moment can be SOME freeride.