Happy Mojo Rider

Wrench on my own bike

I have been riding for 3 years and still take my bike to the shop for tune ups. What can I do to start doing my own regular maintenance It's not that I'm cheap I have no problem bringing it to my favorite bike shop but when it's stupid stuff that I could have pick up on myself it makes me mad. Today I went for a ride and my rear de-railer wasn't shifting so I brought it to the shop and all it ended up being was a loose rear de-railer. Now I saw that it was loose but since I know zero about bikes I didn't know if it was supposed to be like that. Is there any bike shops or mechanics that run work shops about this kind of thing? Is there any books that I can buy to help myself out?
    Thanks In Advanced
    Ted

What could go wrong ...
    you can get this book Zinn and the Art of Mountain Bike Maintenance

and check the Park Tool website and youtube for lots of "how to" info
    I used to ride to Win ... Now I ride to Grin

While my guitar gently weeps, my bike sits there mocking me

Happy Mojo Rider
    Thanks I'll give the book a try and try looking at park tools website.

xx = xtrČ
    Some shops also give mechanic classes so you can learn, it isn't very expensive and very helpfull.

mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Park Tool and Sheldon Brown's site are both excellent sources of info, and they are free. You might also try the Utah mountain biking site.

http://sheldonbrown.com/gearing/index.html

http://www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=64

http://www.utahmountainbiking.com/fix/index.htm

fool goin up, joker down
    Jan 2009
    +1 for Zinn that's a phenomenal book!!
    Mamma speed I'm back!!!

mtbr member
    Everything on a bike is fairly simple
    first thing is to keep your bike clean you would be amazed at how many times people have brought a bike into me saying their gears aren't working and I clean out the derailleur and it works again with no other adjustments.