rad to the power of sick

Where to Buy XC skate Skis in the GTA??

hey all, im looking at picking up some XC skate gear. I need to find something outdoors to do in the winter!

I am an absolute beginner, and have little money to spend. Im looking for a complete package that will get me started and I havent a clue where to start looking.

Some pointers as to what shops to check out would be fantastic. Again, cheap is the goal.

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    Well you probably missed all the ski swaps by now. Skate skis are not as picky compare to classic skis, where your weight plays a bigger role. You can get away with a medium flex for you weight for that ski company. Probably look at a used pair. Oh, two types of bindings. NNN versus Salomon profil and active. You need a NNN boot (or Profil) to go with a NNN binding. My advice, go with Profil, seems to be more companies offer boots for them (?). SO, get some used skis and poles and find a boot that will fit your binding. I ski up here at Naughton ski trails, I think you come through Sudbury now and again.

icy
    mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    Silent Sports has a good selection www.silentsports.com

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    Have you thought about getting some snow shoes? It will be cheaper then cross country ski package and you can get a damn good work out if you want to. Just throwing that out there is money is a concern. You should be able to get poles/snowshoes for 100-200 bucks and you really don't need anything else as they will work with regular winter boots.

banned
    Why not ride a bike?

Looking for Adventure
    I am big into XC skiing, as you may have noticed, and I do a few races.

If you want cheap, recreational, and good advice, go to Mountain Equipment Co-op.

If you want quality, performance equipment priced at good value, go to www.velotique.com. They are near the Beaches in Toronto, and only do XC equipment in the winter (and biking accessories in the summer).