Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    banned
    Sep 2011

What is and What should be

Riding in Ontario whats the deal ?

I have been riding here in Ontario for 23 years and I still do not understand what the rules of land Access is all about ?

there are Provincial lands / Municipal /and Federal.. Now aside from the actual conservation parks where we know whether or not cycling is allowed. what about the green belts such as Seaton the Rouge , Bronte, Humber, Credit, are we allowed to Ride these ? Do They not fall in the same Category as the Don ?
    I remember years ago where the Town had Hired security Guards to enforce no ridding at the Seaton Trail. When we put some resistance, they told us that this was a private company hired buy an undisclosed group to persuade riders from ridding the trail. It had nothing to do with the government in any level.
    Does anyone know the actual Rules ?

Evil Jr.
    To call this topic complicated would be a giant understatement. We'd almost need a matrix in a sticky threat to sort it all out.

If you dip your toe in the Copeland thread you can see how confusing things can be. A lot of the building is rogue. The Province owns the land but the Conservancy has stepped up to set the rules...
    Please enjoy seeing this terrible collection of me - something wonderful is about to happy.

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    It seems like at least one member on this forum is knowledgeable about every significant land manager in Ontario. Collating this information ought to be the business of something like the IMBA RLAC council, but if it isn't we should make a list; sticky thread would be good. And, despite over-use and occasional abuse of the term, each parcel of land that's interesting usually comes with a bunch of stake-holders in addition to the land manager, who should be mentioned as well.

No. Just No. Moderator
    Quote Originally Posted by Kay. View Post