Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Trail for a first ride?

Hi All,

I'm a noob getting ready for my first ride, I live in Milton and was planning to go for my first XC/All Mountain type of ride this weekend. I was thinking of going to either Kelso or Hilton Falls, and was looking for any other recommendations you may have, and/or any thing I should be aware of in terms of trail etiquette etc.

Thanks
    James

mtbr member
    May 2007
    Kelso would be great for a beginner. The terrain is mostly very simple, with a couple of challenging sections that you should feel free to walk. Gives you room to grow and improve on the same trail system.

Yield to the uphill rider, try not to skid and/or damage the trails, ride through puddles (not around, this widens the trail), yield to pedestrians, make sure you crash at least once... and have fun!

Lemmy Rules!
    Hey James, welcome to mountainbiking! +1 for Kelso. Hilton Falls (once you get deep into the woods) is very rocky and technical in spots and its pretty easy to get turned around in there and get a little lost. Save it for your second or third ride.

Kelso has a bunch of smaller loops at the top of the escarpment, and covers a smaller area, so it is tough to get too lost in there. Also, the different loops have beginner/intermediate/advanced markers, just like a ski hill, so you can start on the beginner trails and progress as your comfort level improves. I assume you have a helmet, right? They won't let you ride there without one...