Movin' to Montana soon
    Jul 2011

Fast rolling tire for getting to Mansfield/Simcoe County trails.

I need a fast rolling tire for riding on the road to get to trails in the Mansfield/Simcoe County area.I'm riding up to an hour and a half on road and rolling resistance is a big concern to me.

Right now I have a Small Block 8 on the front.It's ok for now but it seems to pack up really fast and a Holy Roller on the rear(I didn't put it there)which rolls nicely but I find it to be useless on the trail.

Since I'm pretty new to this I don't know a lot about what tires work where and would appreciate any suggestions.
    Last edited by Alhazred; 09-28-2011 at 09:58 PM. Reason: spelling

Evil Jr.
    Personally, I have yet to find a better all-around tire than Schwalbe Racing Ralphs. I like them so much, I even got a teeny pair for my cyclocross race bike. Great combination of low rolling resistance, toothy grip and mud clearing.
    Please enjoy seeing this terrible collection of me - something wonderful is about to happy.

almost there!
    I still think Hutchinson Pythons are a great tire for on the road and the trail, you could also try Specialized Fast Traks, they might clear mud better than the Pythons. Fast rolling tires are not always the grippiest tires when you go off road, they take some skill to master and are worth it if speed is more important than grip.

sock puppet

all good suggestions...

my taste, out of the three mentioned, are Racing Ralphs.

good thing is one can go pretty wide with them - 2.25 or 2.4, unlike SB8 or Fast Trak. Racing Ralphs also have more lateral grip, which comes handy off road. Rolling resistance is about the same, give or take, with Racing Ralphs rolling the fastest by slim margin. They also come in snakeskin version, which is virtually indestructible, including sidewalls. Important feature when going out on such a long trip.