Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

Is buying your first "nice" bike always this hard?

Hi guys iv been struggling for quite some time now with selecting my next mtb purchase. I currently ride a HT and am looking for a FS that i can use in races but not completely limit myself to just that. I want to support my LBS but i find that I hear different stories often contradicting what i had read on the forums and herd from the competing LBS.
    Im a student and have saved for a long time for a bike upgrade which i think is the reason why I have been scared to purchase a bike that i may not like.

I have test ridden the Specialized epic and the trek super fly and enjoyed both but did not feel confident enough to base a purchase on just trying the 2 plus i tried them 4 months apart.
    Bikes carried by my LBS that i have considered are:
    Cannondales scapel 29er 3 - SCALPEL 29ER 3 - Scalpel 29er - Full Suspension 29er - Mountain - Bikes - 2013
    Specialized Epic Comp 29 -Specialized Bicycle Components
    Scott Spark 940 - SCOTT Spark 940 Bike - SCOTT Sports
    Giant anthem advanced x 29er 2 (not sure why the componentry isnt as good comparitivly to the non advanced model) - Anthem X Advanced 29er 2 (2013) - Bikes | Giant Bicycles | Canada
    comparing the 2 anthems - Giant Bicycles | Canada
    Trek Superfly 100 AL - Trek Bicycle
    A couple things to note are I ride predominantly in southern Ontario and as you can see from the listed bikes im looking to spend around 3k.

I look forward to any constructive feedback you may have regarding the bikes i have listed and hopefully assist me in coming to a conclusion on a purchase.
    Thank you for your time

No Stranger to danger....
    Nice post mate, well put together..

IMHO i think the Giant Anthem is the stand out of the bunch, its a very nice bike, has the best maestro suspension system and i have only heard great things about the anthem and trance.