Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2011

New question here. Buying first Mountain Bike?

I'm one step away from buying my first mountain bike. I'm just waiting for confirmation that it will fit in my 2006 Honda Civic 2-door Coupe. I don't want to add a rack on my car.

I'm a noob. I'm a recreational trail cruiser from Toronto. I drive out of the city and go trail riding - mostly gravel path. I normally rent a bike from an outfitter on site.

I have a small budget. First I looked in bike shops. But the bikes in these shops are beyond my budget. I found one on sale I can afford in Can-Tire.

"Kranked Factor Adult Full Suspension Bike, 26-in"
    Price: $200 sale price

I would be riding once a week on weekends.

Will this bike do for me??? Any recommendations on other affordable mountain bike???

Thanks.

Sissy Pants FTW Moderator
    Your same post on the "Beginner" forum is likely to attract some useful information for you, since this is a very common topic (although circumstances and answers vary with each individual inquiry).

Do you see your interests growing beyond gravel trails into what would be described as more "technical" trails including narrower trails (i.e. "singletrack"), rocks, roots, various grades of steepness up and down, and perhaps even beyond? The first goal should be to meet your current needs, but maybe at the same time consider whether there's a way to have a plan for expansion of your interests later, in terms of terrain you may want to ride on. Gravel trails are great for cruising around and exploring on too - nothing wrong with that.

In the grand scheme of things, you are correct that $200 is a modest budget to be working with, but it certainly isn't necessary to spend 4 figures to have fun on a mountain bike to be able to have some fun. Checking out the latest and greatest technology & gear can indeed be one fun aspect of the activity, but many people enjoy their riding just as much without so much emphasis on the gear.