mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Bike/suspension setup for the Don

Hey guys,
    I'm new to suspension. Been riding my Giant Trance this summer using the rough body weight=psi for the shocks but I really have no idea how it should behave.

I realise this is probably pretty individual and may vary dramatically by bike design as well, but any suggestions on shock set up (pressure and rebound settings) as well as tire pressure? If it matters I'm ~5'10" and around 160lb without gear. I ride almost exclusively in the Don and am fairly novice.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    As a general rule, an average ride will use around 80-90% of the suspension's full travel. A full speed balls out ride will use 90-100%. A nice leisurely ride will be somewhere from 60-80%. As for tire pressure, I'm really too lazy for my own good. I inflate to 32psi or so every few weeks and just keep riding until it feels too soft, which is about 20-23psi depending on the tire. I weigh 150lbs for what it's worth.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    It often feels like the fork needs less pressure than the rear shock, but then on steep descents I feel like it is diving.

db9
    mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Most systems are setup based on sag..

Root thru the Giant website and you'll find

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/_uploa...al-revised.pdf

I don't know the Trance but I think it has a Fox front & back I think - look at the Fox website for setup info as well and they will give you suggestions about rebound settings.

If you look at the Wheel & tire forum on MTBR you'll see a sticky on tire pressure.
    Pressure will vary with tire size and if your running tube or tubeless.

humber river advocate
    there are many misconceptions about setting up suspension and some common mistakes. here are some basic steps to get you started. it can get more complex but this information will teach you the basics with out getting into things like shim stacks, oil weights, changing chamber sizes etc...