mtbr member
    Sep 2007

XT dual shifters...

Getting ready to pull the trigger on a bike equipped with XT dual shifters.For those with them,how do you like them and how long befor you were comfortable with them?If I don't come to like these and change the shifters over to XTR's should I also change the RD from XT to XTR or will the XT perform good with this(XTR) shifter?

ballbuster

Nope!

Quote Originally Posted by jiggerjake
    Getting ready to pull the trigger on a bike equipped with XT dual shifters.For those with them,how do you like them and how long befor you were comfortable with them?If I don't come to like these and change the shifters over to XTR's should I also change the RD from XT to XTR or will the XT perform good with this(XTR) shifter?
    All the Shimano stuff is interchangeable, except for 8 speed Dura Ace which I have a lot of first hand knowledge. Ugh.

I test rode a Cannondale Jeckyl at a demo days event equipped with a rapid rise XT dual control gearing setup. I thought I was going to hate it. It turns out after a couple miles of a lot of shifting, I found it to be second nature. My only real critique would be that you can't (couldn't?) dump a whole lot of gears at once into an easy gear, like if you rounded a tight corner at a good clip and found a super steep grind up and needed a low gear right away. I only put about 10 miles on the bike in under an hour, so I don't know if it would strain any muscles in your hands during an epic 5+ hour ride. I suspect that is possible.

I don't own a set, but I am tempted to get some LX flippy shifters for my race hardtail to try them out.

mtbr member
    Jun 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by pimpbot
    ... My only real critique would be that you can't (couldn't?) dump a whole lot of gears at once into an easy gear, like if you rounded a tight corner at a good clip and found a super steep grind up and needed a low gear right away.....