mtbr member
    Sep 2004

x.9 Sram Setup, Shimano XT cassette, or sram?

I'm going to get the x.9 shifters a derailer setup for my Giant. Now I want to know if i should save a few bucks and get the SRAM POWERGLIDE PG-990 9SP cassette (11-34) or buy an XT cassette for double the $$. Im pretty new to this stuff, so any input would be awesome. Also i have two wheelsetts, (on road/off road) for the bike and want to keep the same cassettes on so i dont have to reajdust like crazy.

Thank you
    Josh

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I use the PG990 and have ben very pleased. I might suggest you look at the 11-32 for at least the on road setup but I run an 11-32 off road and it is plenty and smooths out shifting to the big cogs.

thats my red stapler
    Quote Originally Posted by Slowjett
    I'm going to get the x.9 shifters a derailer setup for my Giant. Now I want to know if i should save a few bucks and get the SRAM POWERGLIDE PG-990 9SP cassette (11-34) or buy an XT cassette for double the $$. Im pretty new to this stuff, so any input would be awesome. Also i have two wheelsetts, (on road/off road) for the bike and want to keep the same cassettes on so i dont have to reajdust like crazy.

Thank you
    Josh
    the pg 990 shifts as well as anything shimano save your money
    [SIZE=2]when the going gets tough the world gets reduced to one pedal stroke at a time[/SIZE]

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    I like the PG990 except for the abnormally big jump from the 2nd-biggest-cog to the biggest cog on the 11-34. You can see they kept every cog the same except for the biggest one as the 11-32 in an effort to save money. You can also see that the the 11-32 PG990 has normal cog-size progression. Which is why I have the SRAM 11-32 PG990 on my hardtail.