Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

X-9 Shifter Question

895 views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  frdfandc 
#1 ·
OK, I have been a shimano man since I started riding. But recently I bought some SRAM shifters - - SRAM X-9 9 speed. This is a totally basic question: How do I get the cable out of the shifter to replace it. I have changed Shimano's a million times, but these are different. Any help?

Thanks

#5 ·
#6 ·
The piece that says 'Impulse" unscrews. Sometimes they are a tad tight and require a pair of needle nose pliers to loosen up.

Once you get that off, the top cap comes off.

What ever you do, do not remove the allen bolt on the bottom of the shifter. If you do, you will be spending most of your evening trying to get it back together.

#7 ·
frdfandc said:
The piece that says 'Impulse" unscrews. Sometimes they are a tad tight and require a pair of needle nose pliers to loosen up.

Once you get that off, the top cap comes off.

What ever you do, do not remove the allen bolt on the bottom of the shifter. If you do, you will be spending most of your evening trying to get it back together.
Thanks frdfandc, I figured it out and just finished the job.

And I must say that the method of replacing cables in these shifters is completely stupid. I used XTR teflon cables. But there is no way I would thread Gore-Tex cables through these shifters. It is too tight. You will compromise the Gore-Tex.

WOW! I am just shaking my head at how stupid that process was.

#10 ·
Pisgah said:
TBut there is no way I would thread Gore-Tex cables through these shifters. It is too tight. You will compromise the Gore-Tex.
There is no need for fancy expensive cables with SRAM 1:1 systems, they work in adverse conditions even with dirty cables. You've just been trained to need those cables with Shimano...seriously:thumbsup:

#11 ·
mtnbiker72 said: