mtbr member

Upset WTF did Shimano/SRAM do to their chains??!!I

I've been using Shimano's 9sp cassettes for about 6 years now. Always with SRAM chains (pc 59 / pc 69). NEVER had any issues. Always great shifting and pretty long chain life.
    Time came to replace another chain and I see that SRAM has new generation 951 which replaced pc59. So I figure it's the same chain and buy a bunch of them.
    Take it out of the box and I see that they've changed the design to have a big bulge in the middle of the plate. I put this chain on and my bike sounds like a busted wind-up toy! Not smooth in any gear.. just awful! I was hoping that my cassette was just worn out, so I swapped it for a brand new one... same awful feel!!
    Then I tried to put this new chain on one of my other 9sp bikes.. SAME problem!
    So after 6 years of using SRAM chains exclusively, I figure I have to go back to Shimano (stopped using Shimano chains cause I snapped one about a month into its life.. never happen with SRAM).
    So I get a Shimano HG73 (LX) and guess what?? .. SAME friggin bulge in the middle of each plate!! Put it on and sure enough, it's not much better than SRAM (just slightly better cause the bulge isn't as huge as SRAM).
    Has anyone else out there experienced this issue?? Did you find a way to make it work or did you just accept the crappy feel and learned to live with it (I refuse to do that).

I'm very seriously considering going to 8sp because of this.
    Wippermann chains look normal/flat, but reviews are awful.. same goes for KMC.

Sheepherder/Cat Herder Moderator
    The retrogrouch in me still runs 8sp on my XC bike. My AM bike is 9sp, though. The drivetrain is as quiet as can be.

How long have you been running your chainrings??? Did you check them for wear??? Good luck.
    ...building wherever they'll let me...

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Visicypher